Scottish County Names

Tips to Understanding different counties:

Midlothian (formerly Edinburghshire)

Moray (formerly Elginshire)

Angus (formerly Forfarshire)

East Lothian (formerly Haddingtonshire)

West Lothian (formerly Linlithgowshire)

If you have some confusion as to why some counties contain a hyphen before the -shire suffix, it is to avoid the triple s that would otherwise result. Counties ending in a single s do not contain a hyphen.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: